Soliciting COY and TOY and SSOY Candidates

Chamber/Schools Sponsor this Special Event

Acknowledgement of the Citizen of the Year and Teachers of the Year, Support Staff of the Year, and our District Teacher of the Year, as well as District Support Staff of the Year – Celebration of Success 2014 will be held Tuesday evening, September 2, beginning at 6:30 p.m., in the Strom Thurmond High School cafeteria.

Entertainment at this year’s event will be announced at a later date. Tickets for this year’s event will be $25.00 per person, and they can be purchased at the Edgefield County Chamber of Commerce (275-0010), the Edgefield County School District office (275-4601), or from any school principal. Deadline for ticket sales is Monday, August 25.

The Application form for nominating candidates for these honors can be found below.


Edgefield County Chamber – Citizen of the Year Award

It time to acknowledge the 19th Annual Chamber of Commerce’s Citizen of the Year. If you know someone who deserves this award (good leadership or community service role, volunteer work, etc) please fill out an application form (call the Chamber office for nomination form) and return it to the Chamber office by Monday, August 25th.   The Citizen must be a resident of Edgefield County.


2014 Citizen of the Year


Personal Profile (please fill in as much as possible)



Phone_______________________ Marital Status__________________

Name of Spouse_____________________________________________

Number of Children__________________________________________

Nominee’s Employer________________________Position__________


Please provide: Leadership and Community Service Roles (including civic, professional, religious organizations, etc.) Awards, Special Recognitions and Volunteer Work _____________________________ ______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


Also, why do you consider the nominee an outstanding candidate for Edgefield County Citizen of the Year? Additional Comments? Other information and materials in support of this candidate?_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


Name of Person making nomination:





Please complete and return by August 25th, 2014

Citizen of the Year Committee
Edgefield County Chamber of Commerce
416 Calhoun Street
Johnston, SC 29832


Winner will be announced at the Edgefield County Celebration of Success Banquet, September 2nd, 2014, 6:30 PM at Strom Thurmond High School

Past winners of the award include: Watson Rhodes, Dixie Rucker, John Timmerman, Tim Campbell, Jackie Boatwright, Bettis Rainsford, Ken Durham, Anne Dukes, Mr. & Mrs. Weston Brazell, Rev. Kevin Cooley, Lynn Rearden, Helen Carpenter, Andy Livingston, Jimmy Painter, Dr. Wiley E. “Buddy” Turner, Anna Timmerman, Brad Covar and last year’s winner Becky Turner. As you can see we have a wide range of community involvement in our past winners.

Please support the Chamber with your nominations for the Citizen of the Year. We need everyone’s input from the county, so we can choose the best candidate(s) for the title.