Greg Anderson Announces Retirement as School Superintendent

Statement from Edgefield County School Board

July 31, 2015 – Greg Anderson, who has provided many years of distinguished service to the Edgefield County School District, first as District attorney for 30 years and for the past three years as Superintendent, has informed the Board he will be retiring December 31, 2015, due to health reasons. Mr. Anderson stated in his letter to the board that his health issues “will prevent me from performing my duties as I should as superintendent and also prevent me from continuing with the alternative certification route in a timely manner”.

Due to this unforeseen turn of events, the Board, Mr. Anderson, and our legal counsel consider it now in the District’s best interest to employ an interim superintendent with South Carolina credentials to work with the District as we enter into a new school year and begin immediately the process of selecting a permanent superintendent. Mr. Anderson will remain with the District as Director of Operations for the balance of this calendar year, working as much as his health will allow.

Accordingly, in tonight’s special called meeting, the Board acted to name Dr. Sandra Calliham McMullen as the Interim Superintendent, effective immediately, until the Board can develop plans to secure a permanent replacement for Mr. Anderson. Dr. McMullen has a distinguished record in South Carolina public education having served as Superintendent in the McCormick School District for six years and most recently working part-time for our neighbor, the Saluda County School District.

We are confident the District staff, students, parents, and community will welcome Dr. McMullen as she begins her service in Edgefield.

We also want to thank Mr. Anderson for his tireless service and his genuine love and devotion to the students, staff, and community of Edgefield County. You and your family will be in our thoughts and prayers during this difficult time.

Brad Covar, Board Chairman Edgefield County School District July 30, 2015