2015 Celebration of Success

• Presented by ECSD and ECCC

It’s that time of the year again when Citizen of the Year (COY), District Teacher of the Year (TOY), as well as District Support Staff of the Year (SSOY), are acknowledged.  Celebration of Success 2015 will be held, Monday evening, September 28, beginning at 6:00 p.m., in the Strom Thurmond High School cafeteria.  Entertainment at this year’s event is Buck Asbill, teacher and author, of Johnston. Tickets for this year’s event can be purchased at the Edgefield County Chamber of Commerce (275-0010), the Edgefield County School District office (275-4601), or from any school principal.  Deadline for ticket sales is Monday, September 21st.

The search is on for the 20th Annual Chamber of Commerce’s Citizen of the Year.  If readers someone who deserves this award (good leadership or community service role, volunteer work, etc) please fill out an application form (call the Chamber office for nomination form) and return it to the Chamber office by Tuesday, September 15.    The Citizen must be a resident of Edgefield County.

Past winners of the award include:  Watson Rhodes, Dixie Rucker, John Timmerman, Tim Campbell, Jackie Boatwright, Bettis Rainsford, Ken Durham, Anne Dukes, Mr. & Mrs. Weston Brazell, Rev. Kevin Cooley, Lynn Rearden, Helen Carpenter, Andy Livingston, Jimmy Painter, Dr. Wiley E. “Buddy” Turner, Anna Timmerman, Brad Covar, Becky Turner and last year’s winner Wayne Miller.  As one can see there is a wide range of community involvement in past winners.

Please support the Chamber with nominations for the Citizen of the Year.  There is a need for everyone’s input from the county in order to choose the best candidate(s) for the title.

Teachers of the Year (TOY) and Support Staff (SSOY) nominees from each school will be recognized and then the district wide Teacher of the Year and Support Staff will be announced following judging of portfolios and interviews.

The Edgefield County Chamber of Commerce and the Edgefield County School District appreciate the citizen support and look forward to another great Celebration of Success.