Citizen of the Year Award

Citizen of the Year Award

It time to acknowledge the 18th Annual Edgefield County Chamber of Commerce’s Citizen of the Year. If you know someone who deserves this award (good leadership or community service role, volunteer work, etc) please fill out an application form (call the Chamber office for nomination form) and return it to the Chamber office by Monday, August 26th. The Citizen must be a resident of Edgefield County.


2012 Citizen of the Year


Personal Profile (please fill in as much as possible)



Phone_______________________ Marital Status__________________

Name of Spouse_____________________________________________

Number of Children__________________________________________

Nominee’s Employer________________________Position__________


Please provide: Leadership and Community Service Roles (including civic, professional, religious organizations, etc.) Awards, Special Recognitions and Volunteer Work


Also, why do you consider the nominee an outstanding candidate for Edgefield County Citizen of the Year? Additional Comments? Other information and materials in support of this candidate?


Name of Person making nomination:





Please complete and return by August 26th, 2013

Citizen of the Year Committee

Edgefield County Chamber of Commerce

416 Calhoun Street

Johnston, SC 29832

Winner will be announced at the Edgefield County Celebration of Success Banquet, September 3rd, 2012, 6:30 PM at Strom Thurmond High School

Past winners of the award include: Watson Rhodes, Dixie Rucker, John Timmerman, Tim Campbell, Jackie Boatwright, Bettis Rainsford, Ken Durham, Anne Dukes, Mr. & Mrs. Weston Brazell, Rev. Kevin Cooley, Lynn Rearden, Helen Carpenter, Andy Livingston, Jimmy Painter, Dr. Wiley E. “Buddy” Turner, Anna Timmerman and last year’s winner Brad Covar. As you can see we have a wide range of community involvement in our past winners.

Please support the Chamber with your nominations for the Citizen of the Year. We need everyone’s input from the county, so we can choose the best candidate(s) for the title.

Acknowledgement of our Citizen of the Year and Teachers of the Year, Support Staff of the Year, and our District Teacher of the Year, as well as District Support Staff of the Year. Celebration of Success 2013 will be held, Tuesday evening, September 3rd, beginning at 6:30 PM in the Strom Thurmond High School cafeteria. Entertainment at this year’s event will be Mike Frost Jazz. Tickets for this year’s event will be $25.00 per person, and they can be purchased at the Edgefield County Chamber of Commerce (275-0010), the Edgefield County School District office (275-4601), or from any school principal. Deadline for ticket sales is Monday, August 26th.


One Response to "Citizen of the Year Award"